JB Clemmens: Murder Mystery Master Storyteller

by | Apr 15, 2021 | Featured Article | 0 comments

ReadersMagnet features the collection of murder mystery books by JB Clemmens.

Murder mystery thrillers have always interested many readers. The genre has produced some of the greatest literary works and the best writers of all time. Works like Agatha Christie’s Death on the Nile (which is now a motion picture) and Murder on the Orient Express (adapted into films, radio, and television), Arthur Conan Doyle’s A Study in Scarlet and The Hound of Baskervilles (which gave us the famous duo in all of the mystery crime, Sherlock Holmes and John Watson), and recently, Stieg Larsson’s The Millennium series featuring The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Today, we will feature a more recent collection of murder mystery books by JB Clemmens. Clemmens is a former math teacher who has published several crime mystery books in the past ten years. She is known for her unique storytelling and the creation of her protagonist, Lieutenant Eli James.

Lieutenant James Mysteries

Arthur Conan Doyle is to Sherlock Holmes as JB Clemmens is to Eli James. Stieg Larsson is to The Millennium as JB Clemmens is to the Lieutenant James Mysteries. The book series is a collection of crime mystery novels that features the character of Lieutenant Eli James. In her books, Eli James is a fifty-five-year-old NYPD Lieutenant with a knack for solving mystery murders. The individual novels are independent stories of James facing different adversaries as well as complex cases. The Lieutenant James Mysteries is JB Clemmen’s most famous work to date and has certainly cemented her reputation as one of the serious crime mystery novelists in this decade.

The first book in the series is the 2013 Something Fishy in Manhattan (August 2013). It features a Japanese fugu chef suspected of poisoning a man of ill repute. But James thinks the real killer is about to go scot-free. He must dig deeper in order to ensure that the real killer is found. Around the same year, Clemmens released two more novels under the Lieutenant James Mysteries- A Substitute for Murder and Mystery at Pima Point. In the second book, we find Lt. James solving the mysterious murder of a substitute teacher at Winburg High.

Among the Lieutenant James Mysteries, the third book is perhaps the closest thing we get to Eli’s family background. The case involves his nephew Drew’s kidnapped fiancee, Christa. The two must race against time to save Christa while discovering several surprises and plot twists along the way. Mystery at Pima Point is an unforgettable fast-paced mystery thriller.
The fourth book in the Lieutenant James Mysteries is The Numbered Cups Mystery, published in 2015. It is one of the most celebrated books in the series. James finds himself investigating a high-profile mysterious death of Walt Whitlock, a local celebrity writer. The investigation points to the numbered cups and a missing document that might hold the key to revealing the murderer’s identity.

Other Published Books

Aside from the Lieutenant James Mysteries, JB Clemmens wrote and published several other mystery thrillers. These novels are standalone works that feature various themes and characters, but all equally exciting and remarkable.

In 2013, JB Clemmens released Jigsaw, her debut novel about a doctor and her friend who walk 200 miles when a gasoline ban shuts down all transportation and are being followed by a mysterious man who might be responsible for blowing up the Alaska pipeline. Clemmens then published the book Patron Saint of Horseshoes (2014). The book features a group of friends trying to stop the attacks on children in a hospital cancer ward.

Although a mystery murder story, JB Clemmens’ 2018 work, Death in Sequence, is not part of the Lieutenant James Mysteries. The novel features a detective named Mitch Jenkins who must solve a series of seemingly random killings in the D.C. area and, at the same time, find and rescue his girlfriend, Ginny Munsen. She is a mathematics professor kidnapped by mysterious men, probably the same men who placed a bomb inside the Supreme Court chambers. JB Clemmens’s latest work is 2020 Upon The Moon And Woodstock, which features various events, inventions, and legacies from the exciting year that was 1969.

Jeanie Bryson or JB Clemmens currently live happily in Pennsylvania with her husband and a Great Dane.

To know more about JB Clemmens, you can buy copies of her books or visit her author website today.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

What Authors Say About ReadersMagnet


Google Review